Advisory Group

The Advisory Group engages the broader consumer and carer community in the process of research, and helps to develop research agendas and priorities. The current members of the Advisory Group are:

Ms Dalane Drexler - ACT Mental Health Consumer Network

Dalane is the Executive Officer at ACT Mental Health Consumer Network, the peak body for mental health consumers in the ACT. She has a lengthy history in advocacy, both individual and systemic, for marginalised individuals and groups throughout the ACT. In addition, Dalane also has experience in other community service areas such as respite and residential care for young people and adults with intellectual disability and mental illness, women's refuge support work and youth work. Dalane has achieved the Bachelor of Community Education, as well as various qualifications in alcohol and other drugs, mental health, disability, and HIV/AIDS work with young people. Dalane identifies as a mental health consumer having long experienced the effects of post traumatic stress disorder. She is committed to supporting the valuable work of the mental health consumer and carer research unit in order to improve conditions for all people affected by mental illness, whether directly or indirectly, and enhance education for the broader community in the battle to reduce stigma and discrimination surrounding mental illness.

Mr David Lovegrove - Invited member

David is an invited consumer representative.

Mr James Eastburn – Independent Consumer Representative

James is an independent consumer representative for the community.

Ms Sophie Hope – Independent Carer Representative

Sophie is an independent carer representative for the community.

Ms Jodie Fisher - Carers ACT

Jodie is an organisational representative for Carers ACT.

Mr Graham Jackson – Consumer Representative, ACT Mental Health Consumer Network

Graham is a member representative for the ACT Mental Health Consumer Network

Mr Matthew Wafer – Mental Health Policy Unit, ACT Health

Matthew is a representative from the ACT Health Mental Health Policy Unit.